top of page
  • CharleneStoltzPortraiture

Mother's Day - This is what to get Mom this year

Every year I struggle to find something meaningful for my Mom on Mother's Day. My gift should have a purpose, something that says - "I know now what you had to sacrifice for us"

Being a Mom is darn hard! Sometimes I wonder what God thought when he made Mothers. She has to be strong, so strong that she can carry her family - but also as light as a whisper, so that she can comfort a broken heart. She needs to remember birthdays, school homework, drive to tennis practise, cook dinner, run a business, walk the dog, clean the house, read bedtime stories...my list goes on and on...


But this is the thing! We as Mother's don't mind doing the impossible. This is how God created us. This being, that loves unconditionally and puts others before herself.


What will happen if you take a bunch of helium balloons and tie them around a pole. They will stay together and not float away. What holds the balloons to the pole? The string, strong enough to hold the balloons together, but also soft so the balloons don't burst.

Now take a scissor and cut all the strings.... Yup, that's right, all the balloons will drift apart.


We are so hard on ourselves sometimes. Am I doing the best? Am I raising them as I should? We all have personal things happening in our lives - Life is not a straight and wonderful road, although that would have been nice ;) But always remember whatever life may throw your way - God says, I am Yours and You are Mine -He will never stop caring and loving you - Just like a Mother :)


Now you ask, so what should I get Mom this year?


Simple answer - Your time.


Don't be too busy this year, make time for the wonderful woman who raised you - The one who sacrificed everything and more.

Tell her how much you love her and thank her for all she has done and will do.

Pray for her every night.

This, my friend, is the best gift you will ever give.


30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page