top of page
  • CharleneStoltzPortraiture

Photograph or Film?

The one question I get so often, my clients always ask "which one would you do?" I know, right? Super hard question to answer. And my answer is always the same, what is the story you want to tell?


Although very very similar, photographs and films are miles apart.


A photograph makes you stare, it tells a story, it can tell each person a different story. You have colours and light, you have photoshop {best thing since sliced bread} You can make {or stage} that moment just like you want. You can re-take that picture over and over until you get that perfect shot!

And when you are ready, you can print them and hang them to look at every day.



But films, oh Boy, they are completely different. Looking at just 1 minute into a film can have you in tears. Or is it just me? LOL. It takes a bit longer to shoot and perhaps to edit them also takes longer, but if and when you get it right....get the Kleenex ready because most of the time you will start balling your eyes out crying. If you are getting married soon, I would definitely suggest that you get both.

Every single time I look at my Wedding film, it awakes the emotions I had on the day. You can feel the love, the passion, excitement and nerves. But not only this, on a serious note, we can't predict what is going to happen in the future. My sister in law passed away last year. I have a full 5 minutes of her dancing and enjoying herself at my wedding - I was just one of the lucky ones I guess, for others the sad reality is not even having a proper picture.


So I decided to make a short film of my husband and children. This was so fun to do and something we can look at everyday. I have probably watched this 100 times and every.single.time I get emotional!


Before I met you, I loved you. And until I give my last breath, I will give you my everything.




35 views0 comments
bottom of page